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Archive for November, 2009

Online Marketing Definitions

As in any field of study, there are a lot of letters and words sprinkled throughout the domain of Online Marketing. I help you make sense of the popular and obscure.

If you have a particular term covered – just leave a comment or send me an e-mail.

Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 17, 2009 at 5:49 am

Categories: Definitions   Tags:

Open Office – The FREE and Open Productivity Suite

I began using Open Office around 2004 and have been an avid supporter of the AWESOME OFFERING at a most AWESOME PRICE ($0.00).  That’s right, it’s FREE for the download thanks to thousands of software developers worldwide who have contributed to making it an incredibly robust offering.

It has all the critical components you’ll find in that giant offering from Microsoft called Microsoft Office.

  • Word Processing
  • Spreadsheet
  • Graphics
  • Presentations
  • Database

All there – fully functional and FREE.  The best part is that it will read and write the various Microsoft Office formats for each of its most popular components.

Check it out:  Open Office

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Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 9, 2009 at 9:12 am

Categories: Software, Tech Tips   Tags: , , , , ,

SEO – Search Engine Optimization

Let me start by saying that this subject is an entire field unto itself.

Master this and you’ll be well on your way toward getting lots of free traffic and getting your website listed on the first two pages of ALL the major search engines.  No matter what your goal is for your website, there’s no use even having a website if no one knows it’s there.  If you have a website, Search Engine Optimization (SEO for short) is something you need to know about.

However, I cannot devote the proper space here and now to fully cover the subject.  Because you’d be drowning in information. Let me summarize it by saying that it all hinges on Keywords.  Keywords are what you type into the Search box when you are on one of the major search engines and are looking for information on a particular subject.

The idea behind Search Engine Optimization is to put “keyword rich content” on your site, relevant to the overall purpose of your site,  so that when someone searches for what you have to offer your site will appear within the first two page sof results that are returned.  It is generally accepted that most people consider the first two pages of returned results when searching for somethign.  So, you definitely want to be somewhere on the first two pages. The higher up the better.

Three Important SEO Tips

  1. Beware of anyone promising or Guaranteeing quick results! The methods used to do so can often get your site banned or bumped way down in the rankings.
  2. SEO Requires Constant Effort. Don’t expect to hire someone to optimize your site once and have it work forever. It takes constant effort and fresh content to keep your site up there and relevant to the search engine robots that cruise by.
  3. SEO Takes Time. It will generally take a few months of constant effort and tweaking to get your site competitive in the Search Engines. Do not get discouraged early on.  Keep at it.

As I said, HOW you go about making this happen is an entire course of study in and of itself.  You can learn it. But it will take you a considerable amount of time and effort to get good at it.

Discover more about SEO. I have a set of TEN videos which explain the process in greater detail. This is a fairly massive download of nearly 180MB.  You MUST have a fast connection to the internet to make use of these.  I’ve made them extremely affordable at only $17.  Click here to find out more.

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Posted by Steve Maziarz -  at 7:58 am

Categories: Business, Definitions, Tech Tips   Tags:

Cindy Williams on Military Pay

I received this in my e-mails this morning…

Cindy Williams - Whiner

Cindy Williams - Whiner

This Cindy Williams is NOT the “Laverne & Shirley” Cindy Williams .

She was an Assistant Director for National Security in the Congressional Budget  Office……

This is an Airman’s response to Cindy Williams ‘ editorial piece in the Washington Times about MILITARY PAY, it should be printed in all newspapers across America .

Ms. Cindy Williams wrote a piece for the Washington Times Post, (which can be seen here) denouncing the pay raise(s) coming service members’ way this year citing that she stated 13% wage increase was more than they deserve.

A young airman from Hill AFB responds to her article below. He ought to get a bonus for this.

Ms Williams : I just had the pleasure of reading your column, “Our GIs earn enough” and I am a bit confused. Frankly, I’m wondering where this vaunted overpayment is going, because as far as I can tell, it disappears every month between DFAS (The Defense Finance and Accounting Service) and my bank account. Checking my latest earnings statement I see that I make $1,117.80 before taxes per month. After taxes, I take home $874.20. When I run that through the calculator, I come up with an annual salary of $13,413.60 before taxes, and $10,490.40, after.

I work in the Air Force Network Control Center where I am part of the team responsible for a 5,000 host computer network. I am involved with infrastructure segments, specifically with Cisco Systems equipment. A quick check under jobs for Network Technicians in the Washington , D.C. area reveals a position in my career field, requiring three years experience with my job. Amazingly, this job does NOT pay $13,413.60 a year. No, this job is being offered at $70,000 to $80,000 per annum……….. I’m sure you can draw the obvious conclusions.

Given the tenor of your column, I would assume that you NEVER had the pleasure of serving your country in her armed forces. Before you take it upon yourself to once more castigate congressional and DOD leadership for attempting to get the families in the military’s lowest pay brackets off of WIC and food stamps, I suggest that you join a group of deploying soldiers headed for AFGHANISTAN ; I leave the choice of service branch up to you. Whatever choice you make, though, opt for the SIX month rotation: it will guarantee you the longest possible time away from your family and friends, thus giving you full “deployment experience.”

As your group prepares to board the plane, make sure to note the spouses and children who are saying good-bye to their loved ones. Also take care to note that several families are still unsure of how they’ll be able to make ends meet while the primary breadwinner is gone – obviously they’ve been squandering the “vast” piles of cash the government has been giving them.

Try to deploy over a major holiday; Christmas and Thanksgiving are perennial favorites. And when you’re actually over there, sitting in a foxhole, shivering against the cold desert night; and the flight sergeant tells you that there aren’t enough people on shift to relieve you for chow, remember this: trade whatever MRE (meal-ready- to-eat) you manage to get for the tuna noodle casserole or cheese tortellini, and add Tabasco to everything.. This gives some flavor.

Talk to your loved ones as often as you are permitted; it won’t nearly be long enough or often enough, but take what you can get and be thankful for it. You may have picked up on the fact that I disagree with most of the points you present in your opened piece.

But, tomorrow from KABUL , I will defend to the death your right to say it.

You see, I am an American fighting man, a guarantor of your First Amendment rights and every other right you cherish. On a daily basis, my brother and sister soldiers worldwide ensure that you and people like you can thumb your collective nose at us, all on a salary that is nothing short of pitiful and under conditions that would make most people cringe. We hemorrhage our best and brightest into the private sector because we can’t offer the stability and pay of civilian companies.

And you, Ms. Williams , have the gall to say that we make more than we deserve? You can kiss my royal red a**!!!

A1C Michael Bragg Hill AFB AFNCC


See also:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/liveonline/01/politics/freemedia_williams021501.htm

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Posted by Steve Maziarz -  at 6:27 am

Categories: Patriots Postings   Tags: ,

CPC – Cost Per Click

This is another often mis-understood term.  I’ve seen it quoted as being simply the amount of money you pay each time someone clicks on one of your ads.Using the term this way is the reason most people go broke trying to make money online.  Let me give you the real definition that will allow you to stay in business.

The key word here is cost.   Lets take a simple example and say that you are selling a single product on your website.  The product costs you $12 and you are selling it for $36.  So you are making a profit of $24 each time you sell one of the item.

We all know that not everyone buys each time they visit a sales page.  So, you have to determine your conversion rate.

CONVERSION RATE : The percentage of visitors to your sales page that actually buy what you are selling.

In reality, a good conversion rate is around 4%.  This will vary depending on how well you have targeted your audience and how good your website sales copy is. But that is a whole subject unto itself.

Let’s keep it simple and say that 100 people have clicked on your ad and come to the site.  With a 4% Conversion Rate, that means that 4 people will buy (.04 x 100).

Let’s say that you agreed to pay 45 cents per click for each click on your ad.

Let’s do the math:

.45 x 100     =  $45.00   (.45 for each click x 100 clicks)
$12.00 x 4   = $48.00   ($12 product cost x 4 sales)
———–
TOTAL           = $93.00

So, my REAL CPC is actually 93 cents ($=93.00 cost / 100 clicks).

This is a simple example.  It gets a bit more complicated once you start factoring in multiple ads and multiple products.

The bottom line is to make sure that you are not paying more for your clicks then you are generating in profits!

Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

Categories: Definitions   Tags:

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