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Online Marketing Definitions

As in any field of study, there are a lot of letters and words sprinkled throughout the domain of Online Marketing. I help you make sense of the popular and obscure.

If you have a particular term covered – just leave a comment or send me an e-mail.

Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 17, 2009 at 5:49 am

Categories: Definitions   Tags:

SEO – Search Engine Optimization

Let me start by saying that this subject is an entire field unto itself.

Master this and you’ll be well on your way toward getting lots of free traffic and getting your website listed on the first two pages of ALL the major search engines.  No matter what your goal is for your website, there’s no use even having a website if no one knows it’s there.  If you have a website, Search Engine Optimization (SEO for short) is something you need to know about.

However, I cannot devote the proper space here and now to fully cover the subject.  Because you’d be drowning in information. Let me summarize it by saying that it all hinges on Keywords.  Keywords are what you type into the Search box when you are on one of the major search engines and are looking for information on a particular subject.

The idea behind Search Engine Optimization is to put “keyword rich content” on your site, relevant to the overall purpose of your site,  so that when someone searches for what you have to offer your site will appear within the first two page sof results that are returned.  It is generally accepted that most people consider the first two pages of returned results when searching for somethign.  So, you definitely want to be somewhere on the first two pages. The higher up the better.

Three Important SEO Tips

  1. Beware of anyone promising or Guaranteeing quick results! The methods used to do so can often get your site banned or bumped way down in the rankings.
  2. SEO Requires Constant Effort. Don’t expect to hire someone to optimize your site once and have it work forever. It takes constant effort and fresh content to keep your site up there and relevant to the search engine robots that cruise by.
  3. SEO Takes Time. It will generally take a few months of constant effort and tweaking to get your site competitive in the Search Engines. Do not get discouraged early on.  Keep at it.

As I said, HOW you go about making this happen is an entire course of study in and of itself.  You can learn it. But it will take you a considerable amount of time and effort to get good at it.

Discover more about SEO. I have a set of TEN videos which explain the process in greater detail. This is a fairly massive download of nearly 180MB.  You MUST have a fast connection to the internet to make use of these.  I’ve made them extremely affordable at only $17.  Click here to find out more.

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Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 9, 2009 at 7:58 am

Categories: Business, Definitions, Tech Tips   Tags:

CPC – Cost Per Click

This is another often mis-understood term.  I’ve seen it quoted as being simply the amount of money you pay each time someone clicks on one of your ads.Using the term this way is the reason most people go broke trying to make money online.  Let me give you the real definition that will allow you to stay in business.

The key word here is cost.   Lets take a simple example and say that you are selling a single product on your website.  The product costs you $12 and you are selling it for $36.  So you are making a profit of $24 each time you sell one of the item.

We all know that not everyone buys each time they visit a sales page.  So, you have to determine your conversion rate.

CONVERSION RATE : The percentage of visitors to your sales page that actually buy what you are selling.

In reality, a good conversion rate is around 4%.  This will vary depending on how well you have targeted your audience and how good your website sales copy is. But that is a whole subject unto itself.

Let’s keep it simple and say that 100 people have clicked on your ad and come to the site.  With a 4% Conversion Rate, that means that 4 people will buy (.04 x 100).

Let’s say that you agreed to pay 45 cents per click for each click on your ad.

Let’s do the math:

.45 x 100     =  $45.00   (.45 for each click x 100 clicks)
$12.00 x 4   = $48.00   ($12 product cost x 4 sales)
TOTAL           = $93.00

So, my REAL CPC is actually 93 cents ($=93.00 cost / 100 clicks).

This is a simple example.  It gets a bit more complicated once you start factoring in multiple ads and multiple products.

The bottom line is to make sure that you are not paying more for your clicks then you are generating in profits!

Posted by Steve Maziarz - November 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

Categories: Definitions   Tags:

PPC – Pay Per Click

I think this is pretty self explanatory.  In short, an advertiser pays a website owner only when someone actually clicks on their ad and gets to their website.

But there are actually TWO  SIDES to this coin. I haven’t seen a good discussion of it from both angles:

As a Website Owner (with sufficient traffic to your website) you can gain income by posting ads on your website.  The easiest way to get started is by using Google AdSense.  You’ll notice that next to the weather information here on the site there’s a little advertisement.  Should something there catch your eye and you click on it, I actually earn a small portion of the price that the advertiser paid Google to run the ad.

Should your website draw thousands of visitors per month, then you can start charging for ads all by yourself.

As an Advertiser you will need to seek out a place to run the ads for your product or business and choose the relevant places to do so.  The most obvious being Google AdWords.  You need to pick the keywords under which your ad will appear and then decide how much to spend each time someone clicks on your ad and is taken to your website or goes to your affiliate link.

The key to decide how much to spend without going broke is to determine what your profit is per visitor.  This is called your CPC or Cost Per Click.

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Posted by Steve Maziarz -  at 8:31 am

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